Duke Of Edinburgh logo

News / Media


January 31, 2018

SLStone - Headshot Westm Office 2013The Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Ret’d), has agreed to the Government’s recommendation to appoint the Honourable Shane L Stone AC QC as the new Chair of the Council for the Order of Australia.

Shane Stone is a former primary school teacher, barrister and Member of Parliament. He became the Northern Territory’s 5th Chief Minister in 1995 having served five years as a senior cabinet minister prior to his election as head of government. He retired from Parliament in 2000 and has since been engaged as a non-executive director of UK and Australian public and private companies.

His philanthropic ‘not for profit’ contribution has included Chairman of the Duke of Edinburgh Award in Australia (2012-2018), President of the Order of Australia Association (2010-2013), Chairman Defence Reserves Support Council (2000-2008), and the Australian Children’s Television Foundation (1999-2008). He is an active member of the Order of Malta. He was appointed Chairman of the Northern Australian Advisory Group by Prime Minister Abbott in 2014 to inform the Commonwealth White Paper on Developing the North. Shane Stone served long-term in the Australian Navy Reserve and retired in 2016. He is the recipient of the Australian Defence Medal and the Reserve Force Medal.

Mr Stone was appointed a Companion of the Order of Australia in the 2006 Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

Shane Stone is anMedal_Recipients_Group_Shot1 alumnus of the Australian National University, Melbourne University Law School, Adelaide and Sturt Universities and is a former Visiting Fellow at the Lauterpacht Centre of International Law Cambridge University. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management and Australian Institute of Company Directors. He is also a Life Member and Fellow of the Australian College of Educators. He is a Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

Mr Stone is familiar with the workings of the Council for the Order of Australia, having served as a community member since 2014.

"Shane Stone brings to the role a long period of community service, and a diverse background in government and business,” Sir Peter said.

“The Council looks forward to his leadership in this important role.”

Shane Stone said “The Order of Australia recognises those who have made a significant contribution to their country. Merit based, appointments and awards are apolitical and the Order operates on the basis of nominations directly from the community. The continuing challenge is in the diversity and demographic spread of the awards”.

“As Chair of the Council I look forward to working with other members to ensure that the Australian honours system continues to be inclusive and available to all Australians; a true merit system based on community nominations.”

Shane Stone will take up the new role on 1 February 2018 and replaces Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston AK AFC (Ret’d), former Chief of the Australian Defence Force.