Duke Of Edinburgh logo

Management Team

National Management Team



Peter has over 40 years of Award volunteering, management and governance. He was previously the Managing Director of Consultgroup, providing governance and HR management services through Asia, Pacific, Middle East and Australia. His Award roles have included a Board appointed director (1996-2016), a Gold Award Holder and the Regional Advisor (Hon.) for the Asia Pacific Region. He is also a recipient of the Award’s Gold Distinguished Service Medal. He is Chair or director of a number of private company Boards, not-for-profit organisation Boards, and former Chair of AwardWare.

Senior Manager, Finance and Administration, National Disadvantaged Youth Project Manager: Tania ETUALE

Tania Etuale is our Manager of Finance and Administration, having joined the National Award team in October 2005. Tania is responsible for finance, human resources, administration and compliance. She also provides secretariat support to the National Board and The Friends Board, which actively contributes to managing the Award’s planning processes.

Tania previously worked in Government for 10 years, followed by another 10 years in leading national and multinational companies in finance and management. During this time, she was seconded to project teams to implement new financial systems. Throughout her career, Tania has been involved with projects that support and celebrate cultural diversity in the Pacific Island community. She has also volunteered in the disability sector as well as with Youth of the Streets and Umoona Aged Care Aboriginal Corporation.

Chief Finance Officer: Sumari DIPPENAAR

Sumari is a qualified chartered accountant and her background includes nearly 10 years with Deloitte in South Africa and Brisbane. Her skill set extends to include financial reporting, budgeting and forecasting, data analysis and modelling, systems and work flow development and HR management. She has worked with a range of industries including mining, tourism, public sector, telecommunications, not-for profit and consumer products.  

National Operations Manager: Cathy MCINERNEY

Cathy has extensive professional experience and significant executive leadership accomplishments in business and philanthropy in the Purpose Sector. Her expertise has been honed through a diverse career spanning various sectors and international locations, including Asia, the UK, Ireland, mainland Europe, North America, and Australia. The sectors encompass Retail, Not for Profit and For Purpose, Media, Transport and Freight, Arts and Entertainment, Global Management Consulting firms, Financial Services, Public Sector, and Utilities. Former employers include the BBC, The Grosvenor Estate (Duke of Westminster), Harrods, KPMG, The Sydney Opera House, TNT, CBA, Scouts Australia (as National General Manager).


National Project Manager: Hayley DAY

Hayley brings a wealth of experience over many years in project management methodology and delivering on strategic goals. Her background encompasses both Project Management and Executive Management, and spans the corporate, business, and not-for-profit sectors. Hayley is originally from Western Australia, and has lived in Sydney since 1995, with several stints in London. She is also a volunteer for the NSW State Emergency Services, and is passionate about making a difference and helping others during challenging times.


National Strategic Projects Manager: Kelly WOOD

Kelly joined the National Office in March 2010 to assist with the rollout of the Australian Online Record Book. Her background is in operational projects in both not-for-profit and commercial organisations, publicity and events management. Kelly is currently responsible for the implementation of projects relating to employability and capacity building, a collaboration with the 2018 Commonwealth Games, the development of the Institute of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award and building both delivery and activity partnerships.


Fundraising & Ambassador Manager: Jo BUSH

Jo joined the National Office in 2014 and was actively involved in the planning and execution of a number of events during Royal Tours in 2014, 2018, 2019 and the 60th Anniversary Royal Tour. Previous to working with the Award, Jo worked in Human Resources, specialising in the Hospitality industry for 5 Star hotels. Jo has an interest in the fundraising, having sponsored several children in developing countries, and raising funds for charities by participating in sporting events. Jo has two children and is actively involved in school fundraising and holds her Bronze Medallion where she volunteers as a surf lifesaver on weekends.

Youth Advisory Panel

Adam Khadra

Aaron Zee        

Alexi Ginis

Benjamin Storey

Benjamin Tran

Brendon Wood

Declan O'Hare

Ellie Buchanan

Hayley Johns

Jemima Crawley

Jessica Thackeray

Kelly Jiang

Lea Zeestraten

Lewis Batic

Louise Koller-Smith

Monica Murray

Nicholas Brown

Nikita Papastamatis

Zahra Al Hilaly