Distinguished Service Medal – Dukeofed

Distinguished Service Medal

The National Board of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award – Australia approved in 2015 two medals to recognise eminent service and substantial contribution to the Award in Australia. The inaugural medal presentation was made in 2016 by The Governor General His Excellency General The Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd).

These recognition medals are not issued as part of the Australian Honours system and therefore can only be worn on the right chest of the recipient and as authorised by uniform organisations.

Gold Dist Medal
Distinguished Service Gold Medal

 Distinguished Service Silver Medal 

  1. Eligibility for nomination: 10 years* of eminent service and achievement in a volunteer capacity and for an employee who has consistently extended themselves in a notable manner well beyond the expectations of their remunerated role.
  2. The number of Silver Medals awarded is limited to a maximum of double the eligible number of Gold Medals (see below).

Distinguished Service Gold Medal

  1. Eligible for nomination: 20 years* of eminent, exceptional service and achievement in volunteer capacity, and/or for an employee who has consistently extended and distinguished amongst within their peers in Award community well beyond the expectations of their remunerated role.
  2. The number of Gold Medals held at anyone time limited to the number of living recipients which total no greater than the number of years that the Award has been operating in Australia, (established in 1959).

Application Process

Download the application form below, complete and return to ceo@dukeofed.com.au

Distinguished Service Medal Form – Word Document
Distinguished Service Medal Form  – PDF


Distinguished Service Medal Honour Roll

Professor Dame Marie Bashir AD CVO NSW 2016
Michael Crouch AC NSW 2016
Robert  Gerard AO SA 2016
Graham Menzies VIC 2016
The Hon Sir Eric  Neal  AC CVO SA 2016
Rodney Norman APM VIC 2018
His Honour John Pascoe AC CVO NSW 2016
The Hon Larry Anthony QLD 2017
His Honour Sir Adrian Curlewis CBE CVO NSW 2017
Peter  Kaye AM ESM NSW 2017
Ross Norgard WA 2017
Brother Thomas Pickett AM WA 2017
Greg Stagbouer WA 2017
The Hon Shane Stone AC PGDK QC NT 2019
The Hon Sandra Nori NSW 2019
Gary Rowe

Anita Jacoby AM






Debra Ashwood VIC 2016
Tom Mould AO QLD 2016
Gary Rowe VIC 2016
Shaun Knapper NSW 2017
The Hon Sandra Nori NSW 2017
Rex Morgan AM MBE NSW 2017
Doug Walker NSW 2017
Vivienne Ashcroft OAM NSW 2017
Kevin Lee VIC 2018
Garry Goodey QLD 2018
Linda Baade QLD 2019
Stephen Tillston QLD 2019
Craig Humbley QLD 2019
Cameron Smart NSW 2019