

THE STRUCTURE OF THE DUKE OF EDINBURGH'S INTERNATIONAL AWARD - AUSTRALIA

Introduced in 1959 The Founder: HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of **INTERNATIONAL AWARD FOUNDATION - IAF** Edinburgh KG KT AK Updated: July 2025 Chair of the Trustees, HRH The Prince Edward, Duke of Edinburgh **PATRONS** KG KT GCVO Australian Patron: Her Excellency the **International Award** Honourable Ms Sam Mostyn AC, Governor-General **Foundation** of the Commonwealth of Australia **INTERNATIONAL AWARD ASSOCIATION - IAA** Martin Houghton-Brown Secretary General State Patrons: The Governor for each State & the The International Council, Chair Adebayo Olawale Edun (Wale) Administrator of the Northern Territory **SUB COMMITTEES CHAIR HONORARY BOARD & MGT ADVISORS Board Executive Committee Tom Mould AO** • Melek De-Wint, Award Research Advisor Chair - Tom Mould AO • Ian Hancock, Management Consulting (KPMG) Risk Management & WHS Committee • Liz Jackson, Non-formal Edn & Innovative Pathways Chair - Cameron Smart Anita Jacoby AM, Media & Comms Advisor Volunteer Medals & Awards Committee THE BOARD OF THE DUKE OF EDINBURGH'S AWARD • Dr Kate Leeming OAM, Outdoor Education Advisor Chair - The Hon Sandra Nori **INTERNATIONAL - AUSTRALIA** Brand, Marketing & Communications Committee • Anthony Matis, Tertiary & Employer Advisor National Award Operator (NAO) Chair - Anita Jacoby AM • Dr (Cdr) Richard Morgan, ADF- Army, Navy Cadets **Investment Committee** • Dr James Renwick CSC SC, Legal Counsel CORPORATE GOVERNANCE Chair - Nick Mole • Dr Mark van Rijmenam, Metaverse & Al NAO LICENCE & INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS Remunerations & Nominations Committee • Charlotte Sangster, Disability Inclusion STRATEG PLAN & BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT Chair - Tom Mould AO Greg Sirtes SC, Barrister, 12th Floor National Training Panel **POLICY & MANAGEMENT** Gary Rowe, Strategy Advisor Chair - Vacant **RISK MANAGEMENT** Cyber Advisory Panel (Non-Standing) · Gadens, Lawyers **BRAND MANAGEMENT** · PwC, Auditors Youth Advisory Panel (Non-Standing) :=====1 **CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER** Solomon Islands **Peter Kaye AM ESM** THE BOARD OF THE FRIENDS OF **Timor-Leste** THE DUKE OF ED (Note1) The Hon Shane L Stone AC PGDK KC President/Chair **NATIONAL OFFICE Nigel Stewart** (Sydney) **DIVISIONS - AWARD OPERATING Deputy President** NAO SECRETARIAT (including Licence Mgt) **AUTHORITIES DIVISION SPECIALIST SUPPORT** Ms Jo Bush (ACT, SA, TAS, VIC staff employed by NAO) **QA & PROGRAM INTEGRITY** Sponsorship & Ambassador Manager STRATEGIC PLAN IMPLEMENTATION NATIONAL & INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS Duke of Ed Ambassadors & World Fellows NATIONAL MARKETING & BRAND Supporters & Donors NATIONAL LICENSED OPERATOR SUPPORT Tax Deductible Gifts (DGR) NATIONAL INITIATIVES & PROJECTS **Engagement Events DELIVERY & INSURANCE POLICY MANAGEMENT NATIONAL Business Ambassadors** STOCK PROCUREMENT **SERVICES** Duke of Ed Alumni LICENCE HOLDERS MEDIA, COMMUNICATIONS AND PR **PARTNERS** DATA & DIGITAL SERVICES NT **ACT QLD NSW** VIC **TAS** WA SA The Duke of The Duke of Dept of Edn, Office of Sport, Division of the NAO Division of The NAO The Duke of Division of the NAO Edinburgh's Award Edinburgh's Int. Edinburgh's Award in QLD Govt **NSW Government** Chair: Dave Sanders Chair: Nick Palmer (from Aug 2025) Award (ACT) Aust. (Tas Division) Inc (NT Division) Inc Chair: Phil Schultz Chair: Kirin Lindop Chair: the Hon Chair: Noel Derwort Chair: Bob Rutherford Chair: TBC Jemma McQuinn Louise Herrord & Daryl Manzie AM CSC Karen Witt (2.2 FTE) Erin Martin Steve Halloran (1 FTE) Kim Carr (5.7FTE) Leanne Hopkins Cathy Ryan **TBC** (8FTE) (4.0 FTE) (2.4FTE) (1.2FTE) (2.7FTE) **DUKE OF ED CENTRES** 1200: Schools, Youth Organisations, Community Groups, Not for Profits, Government Agencies, Sporting Clubs, Corporate 34,000+ Registered Users commence using the Framework each year - approx. 60,000 active Users Support Organisation, Specialist Organisations, Industry Bodies, Volunteer Assessors (60,000 volunteers) **NATIONAL BOARD:** Chair; Tom Mould AO, Deputy Chair; Cameron Smart, Secretary/Treasurer; Nick Mole; Amanda Lampe; Stephen Hauville: John McMath; Kirin Lindop; The Hon Daryl Manzie AM; Bob Rutherford; David Sanders **NATIONAL OFFICE SENIOR MANAGEMENT TEAM:**

Hayley Day (Project Mgr), Sumari Dippenaar (CFO), Tania Etuale (Business Services Mgr), Cathy McInerney (Operations Mgr), Kelly Wood (Strategic Projects Mgr), Kirsty Cleary (Exec. Assist)

KEY STAKEHOLDERS

Federal Government – State/Territory Governments – Divisions – Registered Users – Licensed Centres – Youth Sector – Parents – Education & Community Organisations – Clubs – Corporate Sector – Sponsors – Not For Profit Sector – Alumni – Ambassadors & Supporters

Governance History

- Introduced to Australia in 1958 when The Hon Sir Adrian Curlewis CBE CVO was appointed as National Coordinator by HRH Prince Philip. First schools commenced the Award in 1959-1960. Operated initially through the National Fitness Council in each State. The Duke of Ed was established in the United Kingdom in 1956 by HRH Prince Philip, Lord Hunt and Dr Kurt Hahn. The current company (NFP) was established in October 2004. Prior to this, the Duke of Ed nationally operated as a registered association called The Australian Coordinating Council, which first met in July 1962 following a £2000 grant from the Prime Minister, Sir Robert Menzies. Initial not for profit charitable objects: "administer and promote the Duke of Ed Framework in Australia and coordinate at a national level the operation of the State/Territory Licence Holders".
- National Chair (appointed by the Australian National Patron, The Governor General, for a three-year term (2 terms max.) on the recommendation of the NAO);
- Maximum 15 directors. The directors of the company are also the only members of the company.
- Up to eight directors appointed or elected at the discretion of the respective Award Operating Authorities (one licence per State or Territory);
- Up to six Board appointed directors, who must reside in a minimum of three states, appointed to two-year terms (renewable)
- (Note 1) The Friends of The Duke of Edinburgh's Award in Australia is a separately incorporated association. It holds the DGR status for the Duke of Ed in Australia.

FORMER NATIONAL CHAIRS: The Hon Sir Adrian Curlewis CBE CVO; Edward Booth; Major General John Broadbent CBE (Acting); Sir Robert Crichton-Brown KCMG CBE; The Hon Sir Eric Neal AC CVO; Sir Nicholas Shehadie AC OBE; The Hon John Pascoe AC CVO; Allan Sherlock OBE OAM; The Hon Larry Anthony AO; The Hon Shane Stone AC PGDK QC, Michael Crouch AC (Chair Elect), The Hon Gary Nairn AO, Cameron Smart (Acting) DOC Req: NAA IE 2016 01