

THE STRUCTURE OF THE DUKE OF EDINBURGH'S INTERNATIONAL AWARD - AUSTRALIA

Established in 1959 ACN 114 267 195

Updated: July 2024 The Founder: HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of **INTERNATIONAL AWARD FOUNDATION - IAF** Chair of the Trustees, HRH The Prince Edward, Duke of Edinburgh Edinburgh KG KT AK **KG KT GCVO International Award PATRONS** Australian Patron: His Excellency General the **Foundation INTERNATIONAL AWARD ASSOCIATION - IAA** Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd). Governor-Martin Houghton-Brown Secretary General The International Council, Chair Adebayo Olawale Edun (Wale) General of the Commonwealth of Australia State Patrons: The Governor for each State & the Administrator of the Northern Territory **SUB COMMITTEES CHAIR Board Executive Committee Tom Mould AO HONORARY BOARD & MGT ADVISORS** Chair - Tom Mould AO Risk Management & WHS Committee • Melek De-Wint, Award Research Advisor Chair - Cameron Smart • Ian Hancock, Management Consulting (KPMG) Volunteer Medals & Awards Committee THE BOARD OF THE DUKE OF EDINBURGH'S AWARD • Anita Jacoby AM, Media & Comms Advisor Chair - The Hon Sandra Nori **INTERNATIONAL - AUSTRALIA** • Dr Kate Leeming OAM, Outdoor Education Advisor Brand, Marketing & Communications Committee Anthony Matis, Tertiary & Employer Advisor
Dr (Cdr) Richard Morgan, ADF- Army, Navy Cadets National Award Operator (NAO) Chair - Anita Jacoby AM **Investment Committee CORPORATE GOVERNANCE** Chair - Nick Mole • Dr James Renwick CSC SC, Legal Counsel NAO LICENCE & INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS Remunerations & Nominations Committee • Dr Mark van Rijmenam, Metaverse & Al Chair - Tom Mould AO STRATEGY DEVELOPMENT Gary Rowe, Strategy Advisor National Training Panel **POLICY & MANAGEMENT** Herbert Smith Freehills, Lawyers Chair - Vacant RISK MANAGEMENT · PwC, Auditors Youth Advisory Panel (Non Standing) **BRAND MANAGEMENT** _____ **CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER** Solomon Islands **Peter Kaye AM ESM** Francis Zama, Chair THE BOARD OF THE FRIENDS OF Harry Olikwailafa, Co-ordinator THE AWARD (Note1) The Hon Larry Anthony AO **NATIONAL AWARD OFFICE** President/Chair **DIVISIONS - AWARD OPERATING** Andrew Murray AM **AUTHORITIES** NAO SECRETARIAT (including Licence Mgt) **Deputy President DIVISION SPECIALIST SUPPORT** Ms Jo Bush **QA & PROGRAM INTEGRITY** Sponsorship & Ambassador Manager STRATEGIC PLAN IMPLEMENTATION NATIONAL & INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS Dave Sanders, SA Chair NATIONAL MARKETING & BRAND Award Ambassadors & World Fellows NATIONAL LICENSED OPERATOR SUPPORT Supporters & Donors NATIONAL INITIATIVES & PROJECTS **DUKE OF ED** Tax Deductible Gifts (DGR) **INSURANCE POLICY MANAGEMENT DELIVERY & NATIONAL** STOCK PROCUREMENT **Engagement Events ALUMNI SERVICES** LICENCE HOLDERS MEDIA, COMMUNICATIONS AND PR **Business Ambassadors PARTNERS** DATA & DIGITAL SERVICES Award Alumni NT **ACT NSW Tasmania** Queensland SA Victoria **WA** The Duke of The Duke of Office of Sport, Division of The NAO Division of The NAO The Duke of Dept of Edn, Awards WA Inc. Edinburgh's Award Edinburgh's Int. (SA Friends Committee) Chair: TBC Edinburgh's Award in QLD Govt **NSW Government** Chair: the Hon Joe Award (ACT) Chair: Dave Sanders (NT Division) Inc Aust. (Tas Division) Inc Chair: Lynne Foley Chair: Kirin Lindop Francis Chair: the Daryle Chair: Bill Sowry AM ÓAM Chair: Bob Rutherford Jemma McQuinn Erin Martin DSC Manzie AM Ian Walker Steve Halloran Katie Brown (2.0 FTE) (4.0 FTE) Louise Herrord & Leanne Hopkins Cathy Ryan (8FTE) (0.4FTE) (1.9FTE) Kim Carr (5.7FTE) (2.4FTE) (1.2FTE) **DUKE OF ED CENTRES**

1200: Schools, Youth Organisations, Community Groups, Not for Profits, Government Agencies, Sporting Clubs, Corporate 32,000 Registered Users commence using the Framework each year - 54,000 active Users

Activity Providers, Specialist Organisations, Industry Bodies, Volunteer Assessors (60,000 volunteers)

NATIONAL BOARD:

Chair; Tom Mould AO, Deputy Chair Cameron Smart; Secretary/Treasurer Nick Mole; Amanda Lampe, Lynne Foley OAM; The Hon Joe Francis; Stephen Hauville; Kirin Lindop; The Hon Daryl Manzie AM; Bob Rutherford; David Sanders

NATIONAL OFFICE SENIOR MANAGEMENT TEAM:

Hayley Day (Projects Manager), Sumari Dippenaar (CFO), Tania Etuale (Business Services Manager), Cathy McInerney (Operations Mgr), Kelly Wood (Strategic Projects Mgr), Kirsty Cleary (Exec. Assist)

KEY STAKEHOLDERS

Federal Government - State/Territory Governments - Divisions - Registered Users - Licensed Centres - Youth Sector - Parents - Education & Community Organisations - Clubs - Corporate Sector - Sponsors - Not For Profit Sector - Alumni - Ambassadors & Supporters

Governance History

- Introduced to Australia in 1958 when The Hon Sir Adrian Curlewis CBE CVO was appointed as National Coordinator by HRH Prince Philip. First schools commenced the Award in 1959-1960. Operated initially through the National Fitness Council in each State. The Award was established in the United Kingdom in 1956 by HRH Prince Philip, Lord Hunt and Dr Kurt Hahn. The current company (NFP) was established in October 2004. Prior to this, the Duke of Ed nationally operated as a registerd association called The Australian Coordinating Council, which first met in July 1962 following a £2000 grant from the Prime Minister, Sir Robert Menzies. Initial not for profit charitable objects: "administer and promote the Award Program in Australia and coordinate at a national level the operation of the State/Territory Licence Holders".
- National Chair (appointed by the Australian National Patron, The Governor General, for a three-year term (2 terms max.) on the recommendation of the NAO);
- Maximum 15 directors. The directors of the company are also the only members of the company.
- Up to eight directors appointed or elected at the discretion of the respective Award Operating Authorities (one licence per State or Territory);
- Up to six Board appointed directors, who must reside in a minimum of three states, appointed to two-year terms (renewable)
- (Note 1) The Friends of The Duke of Edinburgh's Award in Australia is a separately incorporated association. It holds the DGR status for the Duke of Ed in Australia.

FORMER NATIONAL CHAIRS: The Hon Sir Adrian Curlewis CBE CVO; Edward Booth; Major General John Broadbent CBE (Acting); Sir Robert Crichton-Brown KCMG CBE; The Hon Sir Eric Neal AC CVO; Sir Nicholas Shehadie AC OBE; The Hon John Pascoe AC CVO; Allan Sherlock OBE OAM; The Hon Larry Anthony AO; The Hon Shane Stone AC PGDK QC, Michael Crouch AC (Chair Elect), The Hon Gary Nairn AO, Cameron Smart (Acting) Doc Reg: NAA IE 2016 01