

THE STRUCTURE OF THE DUKE OF EDINBURGH'S INTERNATIONAL AWARD - AUSTRALIA

Established in 1959

Updated: March 2022 Founder: HRH The Prince Philip, Duke of **INTERNATIONAL AWARD FOUNDATION - IAF** Edinburgh KG KT AK Chair of the Trustees, HRH The Prince Edward, Earl of Wessex, Earl of Forfar KG GCVO **International Award PATRONS** Australian Patron: His Excellency General the Foundation **INTERNATIONAL AWARD ASSOCIATION - IAA** John May OBE DL Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd). Governor-The International Council, Chair The Rt Hon the Lord Paul Boateng PC Secretary General General of the Commonwealth of Australia State Patrons: The Governor for each State & the Administrator of the Northern Territory **SUB COMMITTEES CHAIR Board Executive Committee** The Hon Gary Nairn AO **HONORARY BOARD & MGT ADVISORS** Chair - The Hon Gary Nairn AO Risk Management & WHS Committee · Melek De-Wint, Award Research Chair - Cameron Smart • Ian Hancock, Management Consulting (KPMG) Volunteer Medals & Awards Committee THE BOARD OF THE DUKE OF EDINBURGH'S AWARD Anita Jacoby AM, Media & Comms Advisor Chair - The Hon Sandra Nori **INTERNATIONAL - AUSTRALIA** • Dr Kate Leeming, Outdoor Education Advisor Brand, Marketing & Communications Committee **National Award Operator (NAO)** • Anthony Matis, Tertiary & Employer Advisor Chair - Anita Jacoby AM • Dr Richard Morgan, ADF- Army Cadets Investment Committee CORPORATE GOVERNANCE • Dr James Renwick CSC SC, Legal Counsel NAO LICENCE & INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS Remunerations & Nominations Committee · Gary Rowe, Strategy Advisor Chair - The Hon Gary Nairn AO **POLICY & MANAGEMENT** Herbert Smith Freehills, Lawyers National Training Panel STRATEGY DEVELOPMENT • PwC, Auditors Chair - Dr Elizabeth Kath **RISK MANAGEMENT** Youth Advisory Panel (Non Standing) **BRAND MANAGEMENT** COVID-19 Panel, Chair - Stephen Hauville Solomon Islands **CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER** Francis Zama **Peter Kave AM ESM Chair of Trustees** THE BOARD OF THE FRIENDS OF THE AWARD (Note1) The Hon Larry Anthony, **NATIONAL AWARD OFFICE** President/Chair **DIVISIONS - AWARD OPERATING** Andrew Murray AM, **AUTHORITIES** NAO SECRETARIAT (including Licence Mgt) **Deputy President DIVISION SPECIALIST SUPPORT** Ms Jo Bush **QA & PROGRAM INTEGRITY** Sponsorship & Ambassador Manager STRATEGIC PLAN IMPLEMENTATION NATIONAL & INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS Dave Sanders, SA Chair NATIONAL MARKETING & BRAND Award Ambassadors & World Fellows NATIONAL LICENSED OPERATOR SUPPORT Supporters & Donors NATIONAL INITIATIVES & PROJECTS Tax Deductible Gifts (DGR) **INSURANCE POLICY MANAGEMENT AWARD DELIVERY & NATIONAL** STOCK PROCUREMENT **ALUMNI Engagement Events SERVICES LICENCE HOLDERS** MEDIA, COMMUNICATIONS AND PR **Business Ambassadors PARTNERS DATA & DIGITAL SERVICES** Award Alumni Queensland **NSW** SA **Victoria Tasmania** WA NT **ACT** Awards WA Inc. The Duke of The Duke of The Duke of Division of The NAO Awards Victoria Ltd Dept of Education, Office of Sport, Edinburgh's Int. Edinburgh's Award in Edinburgh's Award (SA Friends Committee) **QLD Government NSW Government** Katie Brown Award (ACT) Aust. (Tas Division) Inc (NT Division) Inc Stephen Mason Louise Herrord & Ian Walker (1.9FTE) Kathleen Hewitt Steve Halloran Jemma McQuinn TL Rachel Mayhead Kim Carr (5.7FTE) (8FTE) (1.0FTE) (1.6 FTE) (0.4FTE) (2.4FTE) **AWARD CENTRES** 1200: Schools, Youth Organisations, Community Groups, Open Award Centres, Not for Profits, Government Agencies, Sporting Clubs, Corporate

29,500 Awards commenced each year - 45,000 active Participants

Activity Providers, Specialist Organisations, Industry Bodies, Volunteer Assessors (60,000 volunteers)

NATIONAL BOARD:

Chair The Hon Gary Nairn AO; Deputy Chair & Asst Treasurer Cameron Smart; Secretary/Treasurer Tom Mould AO; Lynne Foley OAM; The Hon Joe Francis; Stephen Hauville; Sue Lloyd Willams AO; The Hon Daryl Manzie AM; Celia Murphy; Bob Rutherford; David Sanders

NATIONAL OFFICE MANAGEMENT TEAM:

Kathleen Hewitt (Exec Mgr Opns), Tania Etuale (Snr Mgr Finance & Admin), Kelly Wood (Strategic Projects Mgr), Andrew Pleffer (Business Systems & Digital Mgr

KEY STAKEHOLDERS

Federal Government - State/Territory Governments - Award Divisions - Participants - Award Centres - Youth Sector - Parents - Education & Community Organisations - Clubs - Corporate Sector - Sponsors - Not For Profit Sector - Awardees - Alumni - Ambassadors & Supporters

Governance History

- Introduced to Australia in 1958 when The Hon Sir Adrian Curlewis CBE CVO was appointed as National Coordinator by HRH Prince Philip. First schools commenced the Award in 1959-1960. Operated initially through the National Fitness Council in each State. The Award was established in the United Kingdom in 1956 by HRH Prince Philip, Lord Hunt and Dr Kurt Hahn. The current company (NFP) was established in October 2004. Prior to this, the Award nationally operated as a registerd association called The Australian Coordinating Council, which first met in July 1962 following a £2000 grant from the Prime Minister. Initial not for profit charitable objects: "administer and promote the Award Program in Australia and coordinate at a national level the operation of the State/Territory Licence Holders".
- National Chair (appointed by the Australian National Patron, The Governor General, for a three-year term (2 terms max.) on the recommendation of the NAO);
- Maximum 15 directors. The directors of the company are also the only members of the company.
- Up to eight directors appointed or elected at the discretion of the respective Award Operating Authorities (one licence per State or Territory);
- Up to six Board appointed directors, who must reside in a minimum of three states, appointed to two-year terms (renewable)
- (Note 1) The Friends of The Duke of Edinburgh's Award in Australia is a separately incorporated association. It holds the DGR status for the Award in Australia.

FORMER NATIONAL CHAIRS: The Hon Sir Adrian Curlewis CBE CVO; Edward Booth; Major General John Broadbent CBE (Acting); Sir Robert Crichton-Brown KCMG CBE; The Hon Sir Eric Neal AC CVO; Sir Nicholas Shehadie AC OBE; The Hon John Pascoe AC CVO; Allan Sherlock OBE OAM; The Hon Larry Anthony;

The Hon Shane Stone AC PGDK QC, Michael Crouch AC (Chair Elect) Doc Reg: NAA_ IE_2016_01